I need to get this out of my system before I explode. I don’t like guns, because they scare me, because of the potential they contain for great harm. I am not going to start crusading for everyone to lose their guns, that’s not the point. I could not, nor ever will, have a gun in my home. I’m afraid of what I might do with it, to myself. That’s why I don’t ever want one. I am fine with having someone show me how to use one, clean it, fire it, take it apart, but never own one. I lost a beloved neighbor to guns, someone I saw as nearly a second mother. Had I known how much she was hurting inside, the mental anguish she kept hidden from me, I would’ve done everything I could to keep her from committing suicide with her husband’s revolver. That loss has haunted me ever since.

Let’s think about it, though. Owning a gun is a SERIOUS responsibility. This is a tool that has the potential to take lives if in the wrong hands. You do not joke around with a gun, nor would you joke around with a hammer or a running lawnmower. If you want one, you should know fully what can happen with one, what the gun is capable of doing. If you don’t take it seriously, they you shouldn’t be swaggering around with a gun. It’s not a fashion statement. It is a WEAPON. You don’t screw around with one. Some of these people who have guns have them because they have a serious self-confidence issue, and by carrying one around, it makes them feel important, someone to be respected (when they ought to be feared). In my view, it’s like a guy swaggering around in public with his member out, to show how manly he is. A gun is not a toy, just as a sword or knife is not a toy. You don’t play around with them and when you do something irresponsible with one, either you or someone gets hurt, even killed. If you have kids, keep the thing OUT of their reach. If you intend to teach your child to use firearms, you better be absolutely certain how you train that kid to use one. You don’t DARE let your kid out of your sight with one. You show that kid EXACTLY what a gun is capable of. Just because someone has a gun, doesn’t always mean they should have them. It doesn’t automatically make them a better person.

I also don’t understand why again and again, mentally unbalanced individuals get their hands on guns. People who have proven repeatedly they are a threat to others shoud NOT have guns. People who have a history of violent behavior and have used any kind of weapon in the past should NOT have guns. This has nothing to do with Second Amendment rights. I do not want some deranged psychopath hoarding guns living next to me or in my neighborhood. I don’t care what god they pray to or not; if they are willing to use violence with whatever they get their hands on, it’s generally reasonable that they shouldn’t be trusted with firearms. Every time a senseless shooting happens, gun owners ought to be SCREAMING about why dangerous people have guns, and what we can do to keep those dangerous people away from them. Not everyone should be trusted with a gun. A blind person should not have a gun.  A baby. Violent felons, criminals. Use common sense, people, for heaven’s sake! If you can’t be trusted to raise an infant, you sure as heck can’t be trusted with a gun.

