This image (when viewed in full size, 1000 pix...

Image via Wikipedia

Time to be frivolous again. I had to share some of my favorite M.A.C. combinations with you ladies. Hey, if you like a certain brand, stick with it. Now I’ve based these eyeshadow styles on the colors I have, so that’s the range I’m dealing with. One look is in blues and a bright purple-pink. I think it works great for a club look. For the eyes, I used the M.A.C. shadow Tilt all over the lid. To highlight the browbone, I dusted a little Idol Eyes and blended it out. Finished the eye with jet black eyeliner and mascara. To go a bit bolder, I used the Pearlglide liner in Industrial along the lower lid. Blush would be a pale baby pink. Lipcolor is Up The Amp with Dazzleglass in Funtabulous on top.

Another combination I put together is a kind of smoky meets funky eye. Use the shade Club on the lid, blend out a little. In the corner of the eye, add a dab of Steamy with a small brush, blend slightly out. Accent browbone with a touch of Gorgeous Gold. It picks up the green tint in Club. For liner, I used the Pearlglide pencil in Undercurrent. Lashes done with black mascara. Blush I used was Hipness, and lips I kept very neutral. You could probably use Icon on the lips, blot it lightly.

Another look I dubbed Mandarin Sunrise, because of the shades I used. This one uses Expensive Pink across the lid. In crease, blend in Star Violet. For highlight, I used Hex, which catches the pinks of the other two shades. For a little extra funkiness, you can add a pop of Gorgeous Gold to the inner corner of the eye and just above the crease. Hipness was again used on the cheeks and lips were done in CB96. I think this makes for a terrific summer look, all the simmering peach tones. I think it looks best with either a black eyeliner or a deep brown.

For a look with bold lips, I tried out this combination. On lids, up to the brow, I used the Mega Metal shadow in Prance with a simple, crisp black eyeliner and lots of black mascara. Blush is minimal, just enough to tint cheeks. Lips were done up in Kissable Lipcolor in Scandelicious.

My latest experiment is with their Big Bounce shadow; it’s a liquid-cream shadow. I picked up the shade Up the Ante!. I was thinking of something glam, just a lot of fun, so this would go all over the lid, blended out. Maybe a bit of Woodwinked shadow in the crease for a little contouring. Cheeks–probably either a sheer touch of color that picks up the gold theme. Lips are done in Liquid Lurex Dazzle lipstick. It’s a fun party look if you want, for the summer, or perhaps a costume party. I also came up with some color combos inspired from Tron, believe it or not. I’ve been dying to share this with you all. For this look, you’ll need a matte black shadow, or to lessen the severity, a smoky matte charcoal shade. This goes solely on the contour of the lid. Liner uses Pearlglide in Industrial. Don’t blend, keep the line solid and bold. Line upper and lower lids. On browbone, you can use a sheer shadow with a tint of blue. For a gold version, use a gold liner (M.A.C. has one and I can’t remember the name). I think Gorgeous Gold would work nicely as a highlight. For a Siren look, use liner in a shimmering white with a pearly white highlight. Lips should be kept neutral with either a clear gloss or one with a subtle sparkle. Blush should be something light and not too strong.

Just so you know, I am not a professional make up artist. I’m an artist (as in drawing and painting) by training and hobby. I love playing with color and trying different combinations. One of these days I will try to add pictures of these looks here, so stay tuned.

