Examples of my jewelry work

To be honest, I’m not sure. Right now, I am facing the possibility of moving from New York to Florida, and it’s not one I am thrilled about. I am at a crossroads, if you will, in gaining my independence and freedom. Due to certain circumstances in my life, I’ve taken a bit longer to develop, and to finish my education. It was not an easy journey, and many times I wanted to give up, but I kept at it. My parents are educators, and having a good education is very important to us all. My biggest regret was not knowing what I wanted to do in college. Having only an Associate’s Degree does put a crimp on employment options, which has been frustrating me a great deal lately.  Not to mention a deadline: between now and the fall of next year, I need to find a decent job and a place of my own. I want my own life, I want to be able to do things on my own schedule, to have my own privacy, for once. Maybe employment that will allow me to have an apartment, be able to afford rent and bills, and have a life. I don’t want to have to be forced to rely on services either, but that may have to be an option, much as it is embarrassing. I’ve looked at the job market down in Florida and it’s not looking too good. Then again, jobs are hard to come by across the country, so I’m grateful for the one I have now.

Am I a good worker? I’d like to think so. I push myself very hard at my present job, almost to my detriment, because I’m feeling so burned out lately. I work hard because it’s important to me and I don’t think people should be paid for sitting around doing nothing. If I’m going to be holding a position in a company, then I’m going to do the best I can in said position, because that’s what I was hired for.

It would be great to have a dream job, something that you love doing, but I need to be realistic. It’s a painful fact to accept. Maybe a handful of people in the world get to be that lucky. What would be mine, you ask? It would be something in the art world, or fashion. Art has been a part of my life since I was small, and still continues to be. I’d like to say I’m experienced despite not having any formal training or degree. I like putting things together, creating objects of beauty. You’ve seen my jewelry pictures; that is ME. I made those pieces, I came up with their design, I chose what colors to use, and that’s only a sampling of what I’m capable of. I’d spring at the chance for some kind of apprenticeship program, or internship. My age should not be a barrier to that and I’m still young.

Want more of me? I’m a published artist. While not a professional, I have had several pieces featured in a national newsletter for the Neo-pagan organization A Druid Fellowship about 10 or so years ago. One was featured full size on the back cover. It was one of the best moments in my life and still is. I still have the original works in my possession. I’ve had pieces in high school take top honors in art competition and even had them shown on TV. I’ve considered submitting present work, but have not seen any opportunities present themselves.

I think people and potential employers underestimate me, because I really do think they don’t take me seriously. They only go for those with multiple degrees and piles of awards. Having all that does not necessarily make you an exemplary employee, I think. Were any of you aware I can be trained to learn a specific job, or skill? I’d like to be in a position that makes the best of my abilites and skills, rather than be stuck in a job that makes me miserable and unappreciated. Some employers seem to miss that point. They just want as many bodies to work until they get burned out, and then hire a bunch of new faces when the old one quit. I don’t see myself as a worker drone, a nameless cog in an uncaring machine.

What skills do I have to offer? I am very detail oriented, which I attribute to my artistic abilities. I look for discrepancies and errors in my present job position, and I’m very good at it. My grammar skills are very good, because I enjoy reading a great deal when I’m not working. Within the art realm, I have an eye for color, pattern, design, and I enjoy creating different combinations. In regards to my jewelry hobby, I have taught myself techniques in jewelry repair, learning about the varieties of semiprecious stones, the kinds of cuts used on stones, settings, metals used in jewelry. I have a relative who went to school for jewelry design and she considers my abilities nearly on par with anyone WITH a degree in the field. In regards to her, I trust her opinion, and I don’t think it’s anything to sneeze at.

The fact is, I don’t see myself spending my days in customer service or retail. I don’t see myself in some little cubby next to dozens of others doing telemarket sales. I have no desire or interest in it, nor would I think it would be a good use of my abilities. My strengths and skills should be worth considering, besides the fact I pick up tasks quickly. Entry-level or menial work is not going to sustain me, not if I want to live on my own. Potential employers need to accept that fact, because I’m not going to lower my standards of living. It’s a dog-eat-dog world in regards of jobs these days, and I need to be tough in order to survive. I’ll put my resume up, if that will help. People can find me if they are serious enough. I’m on the web. I’m on Twitter, I’m on Facebook,  I’m on some other social networking sites such as LinkedIn. There’s this blog, for starters. I’m trying to use the internet in creative ways to make myself known. I can’t afford to give up on improving my life.

Who is the real me? You’re reading it. This is who I am, this is what I’m like. I don’t pull punches and I’m not going to make things up about myself to scam my way into a job. You can know exactly how I feel about things by reading my  work. You can tell what kind of person I am from my words. I deserve a good job, one that respects my abilities and employers who will treat me like a human being.

