This is a photo symbolizing the job search in ...

Image via Wikipedia

Or, how I got in a lot of trouble because of this blog. It was not pretty, and I deleted about half my posts as a result. I have learned a very painful and embarrassing lesson from this, and I hope to heaven I don’t make that mistake again.

I am trying to get my life back together again, and I’ve quite a bit on my plate. I am trying to find a better job, one that pays me enough to live independently and not leaving me broke. I need to find a place of my own, preferably one I can afford without it being a run-down dump. See, my folks are planning on moving next year and I decided I was going to stay where I am. Hence, my anxious search for decent employment. It’s scary, but that’s life, and I need to face the music.

I’ve been meaning to set up an Etsy account so I can offload all the jewelry I’ve made, and I never get around to it. I think partly it’s because I’ve had no business experience and I’m afraid I’ll blow it big time. To be honest, the extra income from this would be a real benefit, because I’m also facing some major dental work (thanks, cleft palate!). I’d like to find a job that I can be successful at, one that makes the best of my talents and ability. I have a pretty solid artistic background, despite not being formally trained. I make jewelry, and those skills were all learned on my own. I’ve considered finding work as a bench jeweler, if I somehow gain further training. I have taught myself a lot about stones, their quality, cuts, color, etc. All that was done on my own, on my own time. If I could pursue a something I love, it would be jewelry design. I’ve considered going back to school, because I really can’t get anywhere on an Associate Degree. I thought of Massage Therapy, even cosmetology, because I love doing my own makeup. Plus, having an eye for color and style is a must. If companies happen to stumble across this and think there’s an opening for me, you know where I am.

My computer skills are pretty basic. I know keyboarding a little, though I can’t type super fast. Some basic data entry skills. I am entirely trainable, though. I work hard, not because I want to be a brown-noser, but because whatever job I hold, doing the best I can is important. I’d like to think that a future employer respects my abilities and my input, because I’m a person, not an automaton.

So, that’s what my life has been like lately. Lots of stress, job worries, medical crises, and a major case of abysmal self-esteem. I don’t think I’ll be posting as much as I used to, due to previous issues.

Things have not been very easy for me lately, and dealing with the enormous stress of it all is taking a serious toll on me, physically and mentally. I just hope something works out for me.

