After a brief sulk over my latest post, I am feeling better and now am calling on fellow costume fiends for assistance. Halloween is coming, and I have not even begun to assemble this year’s outfit. Last year was a bust, because I was in New Jersey visiting my sister and her adorable little girls. I did wear a Gryffindor baseball shirt, though. I was hoping to go as a raven faerie this year, but I may not have the time to create all the necessary accessories for it. SO, as a back up plan, I am contemplating alternate ensembles. I’m trying to use what I have in my wardrobe, so as not to spend a lot of money on it. I considered a steampunk gal, but I don’t think I have all the right things to pull it off. I don’t want to do something ordinary; I want to push the envelope a bit. I generally handle door duty, handing out the candy. My dad hates Halloween; not really because of the holiday, but because of the non-stop doorbell ringing. He will typically retreat into his bedroom for the evening, every so often to emerge for some little thing or another. My mom doesn’t mind doing this, so it’s pretty much between the two of us.

My first standby would be, wacky as it is, some random Naruto-esque character. I got the headband and gloves seen in the cartoon on a lark (also because they were marked down really cheap). I found the gloves are rather good for driving, by the way. Anyhow, I have things in my wardrobe that might be suitable. I have this long black hooded duster that has a very timeless feel to it. Maybe if I wore a baggy tunic-style top under it, and some drawstring pants, that might pull off the look. Yes, I used to watch Naruto when no one was home. I thought of doing a little makeup to add to  the look. I don’t know many of the characters well, so I figured I could make up something. Maybe a red pattern around one eye, some kind of forehead mark?

I’m aiming for something from comic books, something in that kind of genre that I can put together without blowing my budget. Any of you costume aficionados out there, your suggestions would me hugely appreciated. Send me pics, if you like. I considered a Gothic Lolita outfit as well; I have several articles of clothing that would work. I have these knee-high leather lace up granny boots that would be darling. In past years, I have dressed up as a pirate, a Goth faerie, variations of witch. One of my dreams is to pull off one of those fabulously clad dancers from ‘Labyrinth‘; you know the ballroom scene with Sarah and Jareth? I’ve gotten quite good at creating masks, but I just don’t have the time right now to make one. I pondered dressing as a female Sweeney Todd, a la Johnny Depp. My hair, if left unstraightened, looks very much like it does in that movie. All I’d need to do is add some white streaks. I think I could get my hands on a vest like he wears (gotta love consignment shops).

So, there you have it. I’d love some new ideas to try; let me know if I can do them on a limited budget. That’s the other critical subject. If I ever find that cable for the digital camera, I’ll eventually upload pics. So, stay tuned!

