my MAC makeup

I have to admit, I’ve become a real fan of MAC Cosmetics. I have a sizable number of their products, because I really like how innovative they are in regards to color and style. I love their themed collections as well.

I’ve gotten to be pretty chummy with the ladies who work at the MAC counter in the Macy’s at Crossgates Mall, in Albany, NY. I like chatting with them, getting cosmetic tips from them on how to perk up my makeup style. Sure, I know they need to make sales, but from talking with them over a period of time, they have helped me recognize my own sense of self, and my own personal beauty.

I am not the most beautiful woman in the world, but I do the best I can with what I’ve got. Someone like me, who’s had all kinds of reconstructive surgery, shouldn’t be turned away from feeling good about herself either. When I get my cosmetic ammo out, it’s because I enjoy looking nice when I go out in public. It’s why I’ve become so enamored of this particular line of cosmetics.

One of their more recent color collections was their cat-themed line, and I went all goofy over it. I picked up the eye shadow quad in Burmese Beauty and the lipstick in Aristocat. I also snagged their Lipglass in Jealous, which is this funky translucent greenish, pinkish, tinged with gold gloss. It sounds odd, but it goes on very sheer and I love it. The quad and lipstick I wore for a cousin’s wedding, and the colors coordinated with the dress perfectly. I jazzed it up with a touch of Creme de Violet above the crease and a pop of color with the Pearlglide Intense liner in Undercurrent. (I’m quite fond of green). Another combination the ladies introduced me to was the lipstick in Up the Amp with the Dazzleglass gloss in Funtabulous over it. I liked to pair it up with the eyeshadow in Tilt and Idol Eyes. Nice combo for a club scene.

Their Disney Villains collection was a lot of fun as well; I picked up the Amplified lipstick in Violetta and the Mineralize shadow in She Who Dares. Yes, brown eyed girls like me can pull off that color. In fact, it intensifies the brown of my eyes, which I like. I think my eyes are my best feature, frankly.

When perusing a Vogue magazine recently, I saw that MAC had done a collection with Rodarte, and I wished I could’ve seen that collection. They showed a picture of one of the layered lipglosses and a marbelized shadow in lovely shades of pink. I suppose I’ll have to look it up online.

Another thing they do which really earned my loyalty to the line was that they recycle. When you finish the container of cosmetics, you can mail it back to the company, I believe. That’s great. I wish more companies had that mindset. I also liked their Viva Glam line–I got the Viva Cyndi lipstick. What is great about those is that ALL the proceeds of buying one of that particular line goes to AIDS research. Not a part of the price, but all of it. That’s something worth appreciating.  I think that’s a truly worthy cause.

Well, time to wrap up my cosmetic love-fest here. I would like to give kudos to the girls at the Macy’s who have become my favorite people to visit in the mall. A tip of the hat to Sabeen Pervez, who’s the manager of the MAC counter there. Now there is one beautiful, cool, lady!

  • Related Articles
